US sanctions four senior officials from China and Hong Kong

Washington/Hong Kong: – The United States imposed sanctions against four officials, which were responsible for posing a threat to the autonomy and security of Hong Kong, by implementing the new National Security Law. US Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, has given this information. The officials facing sanctions include Deng Zhonghua, the Deputy Director of Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office. These sanctions are a part of the Hong Kong Autonomy Act passed by the United States in July.   


The implementation of the National Security Law, framed for Hong Kong, was started from July. As per this law, any act against China was termed as illegal and an act of treachery, and there is a provision for life imprisonment for the perpetrators of such acts. No local laws will be applicable to the Hong Kong citizens arrested under the new law, and the concerned agencies have also been permitted to investigate in private. Strong reactions had emanated from Hong Kong as well as on the international level over the implementation of the new law. The European countries and the United States have targeted China on economic as well as the diplomatic level, and have raised this issue even in the United Nations.   

The sanctions imposed by the United States, on Monday, are considered to be a part of the diplomatic pressure being exerted by the United States on China. The officials facing sanctions include Deng Zhonghua, the Deputy Director of Hong Kong and Macau Affairs Office, along with Edwina Lau, deputy commissioner of police in Hong Kong, and Li Jiangzhou and Li Kwai-wah, Chief and Senior Superintendent, respectively, at the newly established national security office. These officials have been banned entry in the United States, and their properties and assets in the United States and territories under US control will be sealed. US Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo, justified the decision by saying that the US action against those rocking the autonomy of Hong Kong and snatching away the freedom of the people of Hong Kong, will continue even in the future.   

Before this, the United States imposed sanctions against Hong Kong Administrative Chief, Carrie Lam, and eleven others. The special status of Hong Kong also was withdrawn. The United States also has raised the baton of action against the financial institutions assisting the Chinese and Hong Kong agencies. Following the United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and Europe also have initiated actions against China. China, along with the Hong Kong administration, has expressed regret over the actions of the western countries and have warned that interference in the internal matters is unacceptable.   

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.