UP and Bihar By-Election results 2018

Lucknow/Patna: The results of the by-elections conducted in Uttar Pradesh (UP) and Bihar have been declared. The polls were conducted for two Lok Sabha seats in UP and two assembly and one Lok Sabha seat in Bihar. Both the UP Lok Sabha seats have been won by the Samajwadi Party and the Bihar seat has been retained by the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). The two assembly seats in Bihar have been divided between Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

up, bihar, electionsAfter last year’s elections in UP, the current Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya had resigned from their Lok Sabha seats. Thus, the UP by-election was held for these two seats in Lok Sabha. The results for these elections, held on 11th March were declared on Wednesday. Samajwadi Party’s Praveen Nishad and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel won the Gorakhpur and Phulpur constituencies respectively, in UP.

Praveen Nishad defeated his nearest rival by more than 21 thousand votes in Gorakhpur. Whereas, Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel, winner in the Phulpur constituency defeated his rival by more than 59 thousand votes. In the Araria Lok Sabha constituency, Rashtriya Janata Dal candidate Sarfaraz Alam won by a margin of more than 60 thousand votes. In Bihar’s Jehanabad assembly constituency, the Rashtriya Janata Dal candidate defeated the opposition by more than 30 thousand votes. In Bihar’s Babhua, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate, Rinki Rani Pande won by a margin of more than 14 thousand votes.