Term of 53 members of Rajya Sabha comes to an end

IndianParliamentRajya Sabha’s 53 members of various parties were bid a farewell on account of their term ending on 30 June 2016. Prime Minister, Narendra Modi while addressing farewell speech to these retiring members expressed his disappointment of not having passed the GST bill in Rajya Sabha during their tenure.

He also opined that – “Had the GST bill approved during the tenure of these members, after Independence the country for the very first time would had witnessed a vital change in the taxing mechanism eventually benefiting various states to a greater extent”.

Rajya Sabha also known as the Upper House of Parliament of India consists of 245 members including 12 nominated members elected for a term of 6 years. As on date/today 53 members were bid goodbye who are about to complete their tenure this June.

Currently Rajya Sabha has 64 members of Congress Party (I) which is highest followed by 49 members of BJP, 70 members of UPA (United Progressive Alliance) Congress-led coalition, 80 members of NDA (National Democratic Alliance) BJP-led coalition and 90 members of AIADMK, Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party combine.

On the last day of financial budget, during the second session, farewell was given to these 53 retiring members. New members will be elected in place of retiring members for which elections will be held. In this election, 11 members from Uttar Pradesh; 6 members each from Tamil Nadu and Maharashtra, 5 members form Bihar, 4 members each from Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka, 3 members each from Madhya Pradesh and Odisha, 3 members each from Haryana, Jharkhand, Punjab, 2 members each from Chhattisgarh and Telangana and 1 member  from Uttarakhand will be elected.

Among the retiring members of Rajya Sabha, the list consists names of prominent leaders like Venkaiah Naidu, Piyush Goyal, Nirmala Sitharaman, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, Y.S. Chowdary, A.K. Antony, Jairam Ramesh, Praful Patel, Satish Sharma, Sharad Yadav, K.S. Tyagi and Pawan Verma.

In place of these retiring members, the members elected on contesting election shall begin their tenure from July 2016 onwards. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.